Building student involvement, fostering civic engagement and enhancing community service to advance public health. 


Tufts UNIVERSITY School of Dental Medicine Chapter

The American Student Dental Association is a national student-run organization that protects and advances the rights, interests, and welfare of students pursuing careers in dentistry.  As a national professional organization, ASDA provides a forum for expression of dental student concerns.  It introduces students to lifelong involvement in organized dentistry.  ASDA currently has more than 22,000 predoctoral members at each of the 66 U.S. dental school chapters.

Organization Goals:

  • Promote welfare of dental students
  • Advocate just treatment of dental students
  • Represent needs, interests and welfare of association members
  • Identify and promote needed change in dental education
  • Introduce and promote organized dentistry (ADA, MDS)
  • Disseminate pertinent information to dental students
  • Improve dental care and delivery to all people by identifying public dental needs


  • National Dental Student Lobby Day
  • National Leadership Conference
  • ASDA Small Council Meetings
  • ASDA Annual Session
  • ADA District Caucuses
  • MDS House of Delegates
  • Interschool Debate (Tufts, Harvard, BU)
  • Tufts Pre-dental Day (w/ Tufts ADEA)
  • Vermont Special Olympics
  • ASDA Smile Share & Care
  • New England Center for Homeless Veterans
  • Hale House
  • Yankee Dental
  • ADPAC Drive
  • Socials
  • Health and Wellness
  • Wellness
  • ASDA Vendor Fair
  • Leadership Summit


Leadership within Tufts ASDA: Class reps, Committee chairs, Legislative Liaison, and other Leadership Positions

Leadership at the National Level:  Elected Positions (elected by House of Delegates or chapter delegates at Annual Session), Appointed Positions (selected from a pool of applicants by board of trustees)

Externships in Washington, D.C. and Chicago



D20 Representative: Airy Choi
D21 Representative: Allie Penta
D22 Representative: Alia Osseiran
D23 RepresentativeGiang Nguyen
Faculty AdvisorDr. Joanne Falzone

Hale House Director: Olivia Capotorto (D21)

Fundraising Committee: Anika Solanki, Samantha Parad, Lindsey Chun

  • D23 Fundraising Liaison TBD

Advocacy Legislative Chairs: Devon Ptak (D20), Sho Taniguchi (D21)
Advocacy Legislative Liaisons:

Events Chair: Russel Smith (D22)
Events Vice-chair: Justice Johnson (D22)

Pre-Dental Chairs: Hemali Patel (D20) & Mehran Payandeh (D21)
Pre-Dental Vice-chairs:

Communication Chairs: Alexander-Huy Nguyen (D21) & Jamie Chan (D22)

Graphic Designer: Rachel Young (D21)

Media Production Directors:

Smile Share Care Director: Sophia Heitmiller (D21)

Smile Share and Care Assistant Directors:

New England Center for Homeless Veterans Director: Taylor Vanhouten (D20) & Shelby Jackson (D21)

Health & Wellness Chairs: Shannon Dugan (D21), Kristina Caravelli (D21)

Health & Wellness Vice-Chairs: Ambika Kumaran (D21) & Emily Abay (D21)

D23 Health and Wellness Liaison: TBD

Newsletter Layout Editor-in-Chiefs: Anna Lam (D20) & David Alpert (D21)

Newsletter Layout: Mostafa Mohamed (IS21)

Newsletter Aide: Courtney Eato (D22)

External Affairs Directors: Deepa Patel (D20) & Evaneet Sidhu (D21)

Cards for a Cause Director: Dylan Batlle (D21)

Gold Crown Chairs: Anna Lam (D20), Matthew Lee (D20), Marina Kanakos (D21)

  • D23 Gold Crown Liaison: TBD

Global Health Chair: Omar Hamrouche (D21)

Global Health Vice Chair: James Cruz (D22)