Building student involvement, fostering civic engagement and enhancing community service to advance public health. 


Dental Central would like to congratulate all the winners from this year's Bates Day! 

1.       Best Postgraduate Poster Presentation:
Dr. Sage Yoo (Pediatric Dentistry) “The Influence of Community Service Learning Externship (CSLE) on Pre-doctoral Dental Students’ Future Management of Pediatric Patients
2. Best Scientific Research Presentation by a Senior :
Elizabeth Bingham “Dab2-E-cadherin Duo: A New Role in Squamous Cell Carcinoma Development”
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Addy Alt-Holland
3. ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Award for Best Overall Predoctoral Table Clinic:
Jason Berglund “Manipulating Intracellular Pressure in Invading Oral Cancer Cells”
4. Second Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic:
Maryam Mahdavi “Oral Health Status/Outcomes Assessment of Oral Health Program in Zambia”
Faculty Mentor: Dr. John Morgan
5. Third Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic:
Ronney Tay “Generation of Three-Dimensional Bioengineered Tissue Constructs of Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma”
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Addy Alt-Holland
6. Research Committee Award for Basic Science Research:
Grace Creech “Regulation of Chondrogenesis and Osteogenesis by miRNA-342-3p Transduction in Mice”
Faculty Mentors: Dr. Xiaoying Wang and Jake Chen
7. Massachusetts Dental Society and ASDA Public Health Award:
Justin Maillet “Assessment of Dental Students’ Knowledge, Attitude, and Perception of HIV/HBV/HCV””
Faculty Mentors: Dr. John Morgan and Dr. Wanda Wright
8. Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) Hilde Tillman Award:
Haomaio Wang “Validation of Evidence-based Dentistry and Critical Thinking Application Assessment Tool”
Bianca Velayo “Evaluation of the Promotion of Critical Thinking and Integration of Evidence-Based Dentistry in the Pre-doctoral Clinical Courses
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Tofool Alghanem
9. Dr. Chad Anderson Family Award for Innovative Methodology and Research Design:
Jessie Reisig “Direct Pairwise Comparison of Initial Hydrophilicity of Unset Impression Materials”
Faculty Mentors: Drs. Ronald Perry and Gerard Kugel
10. Dr. Aikaterini Papathanasiou Award for Promotion of Esthetic Dentistry:
Kunal Dani “Comparison of Two Different Delivery Techniques for the Placement of Bulk Fill Composites”
Faculty Mentors: Drs. Steven Eisen and Gerard Kugel
11. Scientific Merit Award for First-Time Presenters:
Kathryn Weber “Optimization of Snai1 siRNA Transfection in Murine Bone Marrow Derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells”
12. Oral Health Disparities Award
Christina Piacquadio “Speech Pathology and Oral Health of Individuals with Developmental/Acquired Disabilities”
Faculty Mentor: Dr. John Morgan
13. Bates Student Research Group “Peer-reviewed” Award:
Mary Sayegh “Caries Risk Correlates Among Adults with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities”
Faculty Mentor: Dr. John Morgan
14. ADEA Student Group Educational Research Award:
Ignacio De La Cruz “Human Papillomavirus and Oropharyngeal Cancer: Dental Students’ Knowledge and Attitudes”
Faculty Mentors: Drs. Wanda Wright and John Morgan
Categories: Uncategorized